You are here: Home > Programs and Services > Deafblind Resource Services

Deafblind Resource Services

Deafblind Resource Services at the W. Ross Macdonald School provides consultative services for pre-school and school aged children up to the age of 21, with deafblindness residing within the Province of Ontario. Referrals for assessment or re-assessment can be obtained by completing the form below. Once the package has been completed and returned, a mutually agreeable date will be set.

For a referral package, or to request support from Resource Services and Outreach Programs, Deafblind Program - please contact Emilie Hyde: Emilie.Hyde@ontario.ca

Deafblind referral package

Criteria for Service:

Clients shall be determined by the international definition of deafblind as:

  • One who has a combined loss of the two distance senses of vision and hearing such that neither can be the primary means of learning.

Service Levels:

Full Service:

A comprehensive, individualized program where the specialist consultant makes regular visits to programs and/or homes. This level of service is not always necessary where programs are in place and operating well. Full Service is reviewed regularly.

Scheduled Consultative:

The specialist consultant visits programs and/or homes according to the schedule that meets the needs of the clients, parents and program providers. The frequency can be one visit per term or a certain number of visits per year.

Requested Consultative:

The specialist consultant will visit upon request to provide assessments, program suggestions and assistance as requested.

Levels are determined by identified needs and the benefit of the program to the client.

Consultants are specialists in the field of deafblindness. Their experience and training has qualified them to address the needs of students with combined losses in vision and hearing, where specialized methods and techniques are necessary for learning and development. The role of the Resource Consultant includes:

  • Support families
  • Integrate therapeutic, community, educational services, etc in to the total program
  • Establish the needs of the client according to level of functioning
  • Provide written program plans and consult in the IEP process
  • Attend IPRCs and medical appointments upon request
  • Provide information on funding support services
  • Provide workshops for family and community education
  • Assist in transition to educational settings and adult services
  • Provide specific training for intervenors
  • Assess clients for purposes of identification followed by a written assessment report outlining suggestions and recommendations

An assessment of the child’s functional use of vision and hearing by Deafblind Resource Services precedes provision of service. Ophthalmological and audiological reports, information provided by parents and caregivers, as well as the child’s responses during interaction with consultants from Deafblind Resource Services, are all considered in order to determine the suitability of an identification of deafblindness.

Following identification, a consultant makes regular visits to the student’s home and/or the school he or she is attending. A comprehensive individualized program for the student is designed by the consultant in a collaborative effort with information gathered from family and school staff. As well, the consultant will offer information and demonstrations of methods and techniques that are most suitable to foster the student’s development and learning.

Other services to School Boards include presentations and workshops to provide information about the educational implications of deafblindness. Each year we host an annual Fall 2 – day workshop entitled Introduction to Deafblindness and Intervention. This workshop includes:

  • What is Deafblindness? Vision Loss, Hearing Loss, and the Combined Effect
  • Communication with Individuals who are Deafblind – Total Communication, Calendar systems
  • Activity Based Programming
  • Creating a Reactive Environment
  • Intervention – Methods and Techniques
  • Specialized Information Sessions

Deafblind Resource Services is also committed to expanding awareness of the unique nature of the challenges faced by individuals with deafblindness. Upon request workshops and presentations are provided to schools and agencies who may be involved in supporting these students.

Back to top

Où suis-je? Accueil > Programmes et services > Services consultatifs pour les élèves sourds et aveugles

Services consultatifs pour les élèves sourds et aveugles

La section des services consultatifs pour les élèves sourds et aveugles de l’école W. Ross Macdonald offre des services de consultation à l’intention des enfants d’âge préscolaire et d’âge scolaire ayant au plus 21 ans, qui sont sourds et aveugles et qui résident en Ontario.

Critères applicables à la prestation de services :

Le critère de sélection des clients correspond à la définition internationale de « personne sourde et aveugle » :

  • Personne ayant une perte conjuguée des deux sens associés à la perception des distances, la vision et l’ouïe, de sorte que ni l’un ni l’autre ne peut être le principal moyen d’apprentissage.

Niveaux de services :

Service complet :

Programme personnalisé et exhaustif dans le cadre duquel une ou un spécialiste rend régulièrement visite à l’élève à l’école et à la maison. Ce niveau de service n’est pas toujours nécessaire si des programmes sont déjà sur pied et donnent de bons résultats. Le niveau de service complet fait l’objet d’examens à intervalles réguliers.

Services de consultation selon le calendrier prévu :

La ou le spécialiste rend visite à l’enfant à l’école et à la maison selon le calendrier prévu pour répondre aux besoins de l’élève, de ses parents et des prestataires de programmes. Les visites peuvent avoir lieu une fois par trimestre ou plus souvent pendant l’année.

Services de consultation sur demande :

La ou le spécialiste rend visite à l’enfant, sur demande, pour fournir des évaluations, des suggestions de programmes et une aide, si besoin est.

Le niveau de services est fonction des besoins reconnus de l’élève et des avantages que le programme lui procure.

Les spécialistes ont une connaissance exhaustive de la surdicécité. Leur expérience et leur formation leur permettent de répondre aux besoins d’élèves ayant à la fois une perte de la vision et une perte de l’ouïe dans les cas où des méthodes et des techniques spécialisées sont nécessaires pour assurer l’éducation et l’épanouissement des élèves. Le rôle des spécialistes est le suivant :

  • appuyer les familles
  • intégrer des services, notamment des services thérapeutiques, communautaires et pédagogiques, à l’ensemble du programme
  • définir les besoins de l’élève en fonction de son niveau de fonctionnement
  • élaborer par écrit des plans de programme et fournir des conseils lors de la conception du plan d’enseignement individualisé
  • assister aux réunions du CIPR et aux rendez-vous médicaux, sur demande
  • fournir des renseignements sur les services d’aide financière
  • organiser des ateliers d’information à l’intention des familles et du grand public
  • faciliter la transition à un milieu d’enseignement et aux services aux adultes
  • offrir une formation particulière aux intervenantes et aux intervenants
  • évaluer les élèves aux fins de la définition de leurs problèmes et rédiger un rapport d’évaluation comportant des suggestions et des recommandations.

Avant d’offrir un service quelconque, il faut procéder à l’évaluation de l’utilisation fonctionnelle de la vision et de l’ouïe de l’enfant. Cette évaluation est réalisée par les services consultatifs pour les élèves sourds et aveugles. On tient compte des rapports de l’ophtalmologue et de l’audiologiste, des renseignements fournis par les parents et les fournisseurs de soins, et des réactions de l’enfant pendant la rencontre avec les spécialistes des services consultatifs pour les élèves sourds et aveugles, afin de déterminer s’il est approprié de considérer l’enfant comme sourd et aveugle.

Après l’identification de l’enfant, une ou un spécialiste lui rend régulièrement visite à la maison ou à l’école. La ou le spécialiste conçoit un programme adapté complet en se fondant sur les renseignements fournis par la famille et le personnel de l’école. Elle ou il fournit aussi des renseignements et illustre les méthodes et les techniques les plus appropriées pour appuyer l’épanouissement et l’éducation de l’enfant.

Des présentations et des ateliers sont aussi organisés à l’intention des conseils scolaires sur les incidences pédagogiques de la surdicécité. Chaque année, nous organisons un atelier de deux jours, à l’automne, sur les éléments fondamentaux de la surdicécité et les interventions appropriées. D’autres ateliers peuvent aussi avoir lieu sur les thèmes suivants :

  • Qu’est la surdicécité? Perte de la vision, perte de l’ouïe, effet conjugué
  • Incidences de la surdicécité sur l’épanouissement de l’enfant
  • Amélioration de la vision et de l’ouïe
  • Planification en vue d’une transition
  • Méthodes et techniques d’intervention
  • Intervention et indépendance
  • Intervention auprès d’adolescentes et d’adolescents
  • Programmes axés sur les activités
  • Création d’un environnement réactif
  • Communication avec des personnes sourdes et aveugles
  • Approche axée sur une communication totale
  • Calendrier adapté
  • Brochures sur les expériences ou les thèmes, récits sociaux
  • Interprétation adaptée
  • Technologie pour l’enseignement
  • Activités de la vie quotidienne – personnes sourdes et aveugles
  • Livres sur les expériences pratiques
  • Snoezelen

Les services consultatifs pour les élèves sourds et aveugles sont aussi résolus à mieux faire connaître les caractéristiques particulières des défis que doivent relever les personnes sourdes et aveugles. Des ateliers et des présentations peuvent être organisés, sur demande, dans les écoles et les organismes accueillant des élèves sourds et aveugles, ou intervenant auprès d’eux.

Haut de page