Ministry of Education
Provincial and Demonstration Schools Branch

Welcome

As Executive Director, I would like to welcome you to the Provincial and Demonstration Schools Branch (PDSB). In partnership with students, their families, district school boards and communities across Ontario, we are committed to supporting students who are Deaf, hard of hearing, blind, visually impaired, deafblind or who have a severe learning disability, to develop to their full potential and succeed in school.

The provincial and demonstration schools offer the Ontario curriculum at the elementary and secondary levels as well as specialized integrated programming. Provincial and demonstration schools are valued as providing individualized education with appropriate resources, giving students the opportunity to fully participate in the total school experience including sports, music, recreational and leadership opportunities.

The Provincials Schools for the Deaf, Ernest C. Drury, Robarts, Sir James Whitney and Centre Jules-Léger provide instruction for students from kindergarten to grade 12. The schools provide bilingual-biliteracy school and residence programs which facilitate students’ language acquisition, learning and social development through American Sign Language (ASL) and English or langue des signes québécoise (LSQ) and French.

The Provincial School for the Blind, W. Ross Macdonald, provides specialized programs for students from kindergarten to grade 12 who are blind, visually impaired and deafblind. Programming includes all areas of the Expanded Core Curriculum such as direct orientation and mobility supports and braille instruction in an inclusive, accessible environment.

The Demonstration Schools provide a one year residential school program for students diagnosed with a severe learning disability. Students are accepted for one year with a possibility for a second year in certain program areas.

Our Resource Services and Outreach program has grown quite significantly in recent years as the request for preschool home visiting and support to district school boards has increased. The Resource Services department provides preschool services for children who are Deaf, hard of hearing, blind, visually impaired or deafblind and their families, and teacher training and consultation services to English and French language district school boards. We greatly value these strong ties with families and schools in meeting the needs of our students.

Another source of pride for Provincial Schools is our Alternate Educational Resources of Ontario (AERO) initiative. Through AERO, we provide learning materials and media in accessible formats including Braille, digital audio, PDF and other options to ensure students across Ontario can access appropriate learning materials.

Each school year holds the promise of future growth within a positive and supportive learning environment that shows appreciation and respect for the culture and history of our schools and programs. We embrace the abilities of our students and staff to contribute to a collective responsibility for success.

Dr. June Rogers
Executive Director
Provincial and Demonstration Schools Branch

Recent News

International Week of the Deaf

Sent on behalf of June Rogers, Executive Director, Provincial and Demonstration Schools Branch Hello all, The International Week of the Deaf takes place between September 18th and September 24th, 2017. The International Week of the Deaf is an initiative of […]

Fair Notice

September 13, 2017 Dear Parents/Guardians: Re: Fair Notice The safety of our children is a top priority for everyone. This letter is to inform you that we have participated in the development of a region wide Violence Threat Risk Assessment […]

Staff News – September 12, 2017

Sent on behalf of June Rogers, Executive Director, Provincial and Demonstration Schools Branch (PDSB) I am pleased to announce that Manon Wong’s secondment as End User System Support Analyst for Centre Jules-Léger School has been extended until the end of […]

Executive Director’s Message

Sent on behalf of June Rogers, Executive Director, Provincial and Demonstration Schools Branch Hello Everyone, It is hard to believe that our summer has come and gone. I want to wish you a happy and safe Labour Day weekend. I […]

Spotlight

Schools

Schools

Take a look at all the programs and services that we provide from our various schools throughout Ontario.

Director’s Newsletter

Stay up-to-date by reading the director’s newsletters to stay informed of past, present and future plans within Provincial Schools Branch.

Newsletter
Contact us

Contact Us

Interested in learning more about the services that we offer? Contact us now and we’ll be happy to answer any questions you may have.

Ministère de l'Éducation
Direction des écoles provinciales et d'application

Bienvenue

En tant que directrice générale, je tiens à vous souhaiter la bienvenue à la Direction des écoles provinciales et d’application (DEPA). En partenariat avec les élèves, leurs familles, les conseils scolaires de district et les collectivités partout en Ontario, nous nous engageons à offrir un soutien aux élèves qui sont sourds, malentendants, aveugles, malvoyants, sourds et aveugles ou qui ont un trouble d’apprentissage grave, afin qu’ils réalisent leur plein potentiel et obtiennent de bons résultats à l’école.

Les écoles provinciales et d’application proposent le curriculum de l’Ontario aux niveaux élémentaire et secondaire ainsi que des programmes intégrés spécialisés. Les écoles provinciales et d’application sont reconnues pour offrir une éducation individualisée, avec des ressources appropriées, et donner aux élèves la possibilité de participer pleinement à l’expérience scolaire, y compris les sports, la musique, les loisirs et le leadership.

Les écoles provinciales pour sourds Ernest C. Drury, Robarts, Sir James Whitney et le Centre Jules-Léger assurent l’enseignement aux élèves de la maternelle à la 12e année. Elles proposent un programme scolaire et de pensionnat bilingue et de bilittératie qui facilite l’acquisition du langage, l’apprentissage et le développement social au moyen de la langue des signes américaine (ASL) et en anglais ou de la langue des signes québécoise (LSQ) et en français.

L’école provinciale pour aveugles W. Ross Macdonald offre des programmes spécialisés pour les élèves de la maternelle à la 12e année et qui sont aveugles, malvoyants et sourds et aveugles. La programmation inclut tous les domaines du curriculum de base élargi comme les soutiens directs pour l’orientation et la mobilité ainsi que l’enseignement en braille dans un environnement inclusif et accessible.

Les écoles d’application offrent un programme d’un an en pensionnat aux élèves ayant un grave trouble d’apprentissage diagnostiqué. Les élèves sont admis pour un an, avec la possibilité de rester une seconde année, dans certains domaines de programmes.

Nos services consultatifs et programmes d’extension ont pris beaucoup d’expansion au cours des dernières années, car le nombre de demandes de visite et de soutien préscolaire à la maison présentées aux conseils scolaires de district n’a cessé d’augmenter. Les Services de ressources fournissent des services préscolaires aux enfants qui sont sourds, malentendants, aveugles, malvoyants ou sourds et aveugles et à leur famille, et des services de formation du personnel enseignant et de consultation aux conseils scolaires de district de langue anglaise et de langue française. Nous apprécions grandement ces liens solides avec les familles et les écoles qui permettent de mieux répondre aux besoins de nos élèves.

Une autre source de fierté pour les écoles provinciales est notre initiative Service ontarien de ressources éducatives en format de substitution (SOREFS). Par ce service, nous fournissons du matériel et des moyens d’apprentissage dans des formats accessibles, y compris en braille, en format audionumérique, en PDF et autres, pour nous assurer que tous les élèves de l’Ontario ont accès à du matériel d’apprentissage approprié.

Chaque année scolaire comporte la promesse d’une croissance continue dans un milieu d’apprentissage positif et de soutien qui traduit une appréciation et un respect à l’égard de la culture et de l’histoire de nos écoles et nos programmes. Nous sommes fiers de voir que nos élèves et notre personnel mettent en commun leurs habiletés et leurs efforts pour contribuer au succès.

June Rogers
Directrice générale
Direction des écoles provinciales et d’application

Nouvelles récentes

Semaine internationale des Sourds

Envoyé au nom de June Rogers, directrice générale, Direction des écoles provinciales et d’application Bonjour à tous, La Semaine internationale des Sourds a lieu du 18 au 24 septembre 2017. Cet événement est une initiative de la Fédération mondiale des […]

Lettre de préavis juste

Le 13 septembre 2017 Objet : Avis Chers parents et tuteurs, La sécurité des enfants est une priorité pour tout le monde. Cette lettre a pour but de vous informer que nous avons participé à l’élaboration d’un protocole régional d’évaluation […]

Nouvelles du personnel – le 12 septembre 2017

Envoyé au nom de June Rogers, directrice générale, Direction des écoles provinciales et d’application (DEPA) J’ai le plaisir d’annoncer que le détachement de Manon Wong à titre d’analyste du soutien informatique aux utilisateurs au Centre Jules-Léger est prolongé jusqu’à la […]

message du directeur exécutif

Envoyée au nom de June Rogers, directrice générale, Direction des écoles provinciales et d’application Bonjour à tous Il est difficile à croire que l’été nous est venu mais nous a quittés si tôt. Je veux vous souhaiter une fin de […]

Sous les projecteurs

Écoles

Écoles

Jetez un coup d’œil à tous les programmes et services que nous offrons dans nos diverses écoles à l’échelle de l’Ontario.

Bulletin de la directrice

Restez au fait en prenant connaissance des bulletins de la directrice concernant les plans passés, présents et futurs de la Direction des écoles provinciales.

Bulletin
Pour nous joindre

Pour nous joindre

Vous aimeriez en savoir plus au sujet des services que nous offrons? Contactez-nous dès maintenant; nous serons ravis de répondre à toute question que vous pourriez avoir.